Sheriff’s Office

Lincoln County, and consequently the Sheriff’s Office, was founded in 1909 after residents of Libby and Eureka petitioned the state legislature for separation from Flathead County. Lincoln County is the most northwestern county in Montana, bordering Idaho to the west and the Canadian province of British Columbia to the north.

Lincoln County has a total of 3,675 square miles, of which 62 square miles is water. The Sheriff’s Office is headquartered in the county seat of Libby. The office consists of administrative staff, sworn deputy sheriffs, county detention and the county dispatch center. The Sheriff also oversees additional sworn reserve deputy sheriff volunteers, and oversees the activities of two search and rescue organizations.

In addition to deputies based out of Libby, we have resident deputies assigned to the Eureka and Troy areas. The Eureka deputies are headquartered in the North Lincoln County Law Enforcement Center, which is a new county facility also housing Eureka Area Dispatch, Eureka Police Department, and Montana Highway Patrol. The Troy deputy has an office within the Troy Police Department.